Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Kathy Troccoli - A Baby's Prayer

While this thing is still new, I feel like I can go ahead and just write my thoughts about this. You know, before more people start reading.

Late last night I was woken up by my phone ringing. It was my best friend. She was incredibly upset. We had a long talk about her concerns about some moral issues she's been having. We're both very religious, so this is a big deal for her. Well, she's already messed up before. Had a terrible relationship with a complete asshole who got her pregnant, was never there for her (even forgot to pick her and her new baby up from the hospital because he was busy having sex...she knows this because his phone answered when she called and she heard everything), and now his parents have started a huge custody battle and basically ripped her child away from her for an entire year. Phew. Well...turns out, that this wasn't her moral crisis. She had a short term relationship a while ago which ended up with her getting pregnant again....and she got an abortion.

Both of us are 100% pro-life. So this news hit me hard. I mean, she's the one I've ALWAYS looked up to as far as faith and morality, and here she's fallen hard down this path. I know she's a wonderful person, she's just gone through a lot and needs help. But she refuses help because that's just the kind of person she is. Not stubborn...she just cares more about everyone else and doesn't feel she's worth helping. I think that partly stems from her emotional abuse she had to deal with growing up. I really think she could do so much better if she could talk to a professional about everything.

I feel like I should be angry with her for what I've always considered murder. But somehow, I'm not. Though I can't stand the thought of abortion, I can understand why she made that choice. She's single, supporting herself, in the middle of a terrible custody battle, and simply can't handle it. I'm more upset that she let herself get into that situation. I don't know why she didn't use protection or take some Plan B. Or why she even had casual sex in the first place. I didn't feel like it was the time to ask that while she was crying on the phone.

I wish abortion would be made illegal. At least we've succeeded in getting partial birth abortion illegal. How someone can see flipping a baby around in the belly, going throw labor, getting all but the head out, then vacuuming the baby's brains out to kill it, and not think that it's murder, I don't understand. But I believe that even when the baby isn't fully formed, it's still an innocent life. Just because it relies on the mother to grow and survive, doesn't mean it doesn't have a right to live. You wouldn't go around clubbing comatose patients in the head just because they can't survive on their own, would you? I know that's a bit of a leap, but I just had the mental image of some crazed person, leaping dramatically from bed to bed with baseball bat in hand.

But I've rambled on enough. I could talk for days about my opinions on abortion. To sum up: woah holy crap, shit's gone down, abortion is bad...mmk? More tomorrow probably. I still have many things to talk about!

No comments:

Post a Comment