I got a better job. I'll be my boss basically, just at a different dorm. Moving up in the ranks from mere Desk Assistant to Office Manager. And I'll have a lot more responsibility at Ridgecrest. I'm very happy about it. It'll be something new, because frankly, I'm on my last leg with this job. I wanted to quit so bad yesterday. And with the new job I'll get a raise. So that will make for nice pay checks....which I desperately need before getting married and being out on my own. But to be perfectly honest, I doubt my ability to be a good Office Manager. If I were staying at Riverside, I'd have all the confidence in the world. But that's a whole different desk. A whole different world. I don't know how things work over there. I'm going to be dropped straight into an entirely new situation, and to quote the Community Director from there, I'm going to "hit the ground running." Am I ready for that? I know I'm capable of being in a managerial position, but am I really ready for this? I don't know. But I guess we'll just have to see how it goes. I'm going to try my hardest. I just don't want to let anybody down.
In other news, Josh (and I, but really more Josh) got a puppy 2 days ago. Yeah, I know "Oh! New puppy! Awww!!! That's so wonderful!" Meh, it's bittersweet I guess you can say. I think I'm just having a hard time getting used to the new life. Like I always say, I don't like change. I love Penny. She's so sweet. And really, she's probably the best behaved puppy I've ever seen. But she's still a puppy. Just yesterday I was up at 5:30am, so I only got 5 hours of sleep. Then just an hour after going on her morning walk she decided to pee in my living room. And of course I had to be the one to clean up. And Stewie's miserable. And that evening she bit my hand while playing and made me bleed. (Though I shouldn't be a stranger to hand and arm wounds after 2 years with Stewie.) And she bit the shirt I was wearing (one of my newer nice ones) and ripped a whole in it. Then she decided to take a walking crap through my bedroom, when Josh is gone of course, so once again, I had to be the cleaner of the accident. 7 different spots in my room and it took over an hour for it to air out. Having to deal with absolutely no time to myself on top of being extremely busy with photography just made me break down and cry like a baby last night. But I can't be mad at that stupid dog. When I walk in and she's just sitting there with her head cocked to the side with her toy hanging from her mouth, or when she's laying on my floor on her back with her legs spread as wide as they'll go, I just have to laugh. She'll fit in fine. I just need to get used to her.
I think I really just need a vacation. This weekend will be semi-nice. Josh's parents are finally meeting my parents. I know my mom's going to be freaking out to make sure everything's perfect, but I'm excited to see how things go. I really hope everyone likes each other. And next weekend I get to bring Josh and Tim to Mobile to help Ed move out of the house. I know Ed's happy about that. And then hopefully we'll head up to Huntsville after to spend the 4th of July at the new lake house. Then hopefully the month of July will be less hectic. Less hours at work, and definitely less time spent on campus doing work.
Just gotta keep thinking to myself that in a week things will be all better.
It's hard growing up. Wish I didn't have to. But I have 2 hairy children at home who need me to be a good mommy. So I guess I have to. :)